The Big Tree

DIRECTED BY SIMON ROLAND - 2021

SYNOPSIS

Their names are Tiphanie, Denis, Salem, Morgane, Yafit, Lakhdar, Véronique... and they live in the Specialized reception home "Le Grand Saule" in Montfermeil (France). They are multi-handicapped adults.

 

In a few months, they will move into their new home which they will discover though a series of workshops following the growth of the building site.. 

Moving out often means new beginnings, discoveries and excitement. For the multi-handicapped residents of the Special care home « Le grand Saule » it is not that easy. While their new home is being built in order to match perfectly their needs, theirpast residence represents a true home which  has hosted them for years. It is a reassuring place where they are used to live and leaving it can lead to a loss of marks, and worse to an abandonment feeling, and deep anxiety.

 

In order to make this transition smoothly, Marie-Odile, the architect of the new care home, organizes workshops to discoverthe site. Laying the first brick, taking a virtual tour, choosing the colors, glass-blowing for decoration... the residents do not miss a single step and even participate in the construction of their new home. 

 

The film follows these moments of sharing, joy, but also doubts and difficulties of daily life. The seasons pass, the workprogresses and the big day approaches. The stories of the members of the reception team punctuate the narrative: Iris, brave and outspoken, Mariana, gentle and exuberant, Stéphanie, who takes a step back as head of the department. With Marie-Odile as the conductor, always willing and full of ideas, they form a caring team whose primary concern is the well-being of thesevulnerable people, to whom we become attached through moving and amusing portraits, distilled like a red thread throughout this atypical documentary.

Le Grand Saule

RÉALISÉ PAR SIMON ROLAND - 2021

SYNOPSIS

Ils s’appellent Tiphanie, Denis, Salem, Morgane,Yafit, Lakhdar, Véronique… et vivent dans la Maison d’Accueil Spécialisé « Le Grand Saule » à Montfermeil. Ils sont adultes polyhandicapés.

 

Dans quelques mois, ils s’installeront dans une nouvelle maison qu’ils découvrent à travers une série d’ateliers suivant l’évolution du chantier. 

Un déménagement est souvent synonyme de nouveau départ, de découverte et d'excitation. Pour les résidents polyhandicapés de la Maison d’accueil spécialisée « Le Grand Saule », ce n’est pas si simple. Alors que leur nouvelle résidence est construite pour s’adapter au mieux à leurs besoins, leur ancien foyer est pour eux une véritable maison qui les abrite depuis des années, un endroit rassurant dans lequel ils ont leurs habitudes, et le quitter peut engendrer au mieux une perte de repères, au pire un sentiment d’abandon et des angoisses profondes.

 

Afin de réaliser cette transition en douceur, Marie-Odile, architecte de la nouvelle Maison d’accueil, organise des ateliers de découverte du chantier. Pose de la première brique, visite virtuelle, choix des couleurs, soufflage de verre pour la déco… les résidents ne manquent aucune étape et participent même à la construction de leur nouveau foyer. 

 

Le film suit ces moments de partage, de joies, mais aussi de doutes et de difficultés du quotidien. Les saisons défilent, les travaux avancent et le grand jour approche. Les témoignages des membres de l’équipe d'accueil rythment la narration : Iris, courageuse et cash, Mariana, douce et exubérante, Stéphanie, qui prend plus de recul en tant que responsable du service. Avec comme cheffe d’orchestre Marie-Odile, toujours volontaire et débordante d’idées, elles forment une équipe bienveillante ayant comme préoccupation première le bien être de ces personnes vulnérables, à qui l’on s’attache au travers de portraits touchants et amusants, distillés comme un fil rouge tout au long de ce documentaire atypique.